Yesterday, a bunch of thrill-seeking runners participated in the first ever Run For Your Lives 5K. According the race’s website, Run For Your Lives is an apocalyptic 5K obstacle course. But you’re not just running against the clock — you’re running from brain-hungry, virus-spreading zombies.

When I first read about this 5K, I was intrigued but I was also wondering how the hell it worked. After researching the race a bit, I discovered the rules were actually quite simple. Before the race, each runner is given a flag belt. Just like in a game of flag football, these flags represent a runner’s health. Throughout the obstacle course there are zombies who want to take the runner’s flags, and if a runner loses all his/her health flags, he/she dies. And the zombies win.

As if being chased by zombies and having to complete an obstacle course weren’t enough, there is yet another trick to this race. The additional trick is that there are multiple routes a runner can choose from, and if you choose all the wrong routes you end up running a 10K rather than the 5K you anticipated.

I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I would love to run this with my brother and sisters (I have no desire to run it alone). I think it would be crazy fun and also terrifying. What I find most impressive (weird?) about this race is the attention to detail in course design. I mean, check out these pictures.

Want to see if you’d survive an apocalyptic zombie race? Here’s a list of upcoming locations:

  • Austin, TX
  • Baltimore, MD
  • Denver, CO
  • Orlando, FL
  • Pittsburgh, PA
  • San Diego/Los Angeles
  • Seattle/Portland
  • St. Louis, MO
  • Toronto
