Tags

, ,

Hey tribe, Erin here. I’m volunteering as a running buddy with Girls on the Run and the girls have inspired my sisters and I to write a series of posts about some of our favorite girly running products. It’s not easy to look like the girl you are while running long distance in the heat of the summer, especially with the humidity here in NC, so it’s an extra bonus when you look and feel like a girl when crossing the finish line of a race (photo op anyone?). Look for our series of athletic beauty posts over the next couple of months. Including this one about hair!

While learning about GOTR, I discovered that their team does this thing called “Happy Hair” before all of their races. What happens is, Goody sponsors a hair station and stocks it complete with colored hair spray and a large variety of colored hair accessories for the girls. The team gets really excited for this “Happy Hair” shindig and I have to admit that I’m excited to participate. The whole idea of happy hair makes me happy to be a girl!

1. The Do
I like a Carolina blue or pink ribbon and I push the braid to the side. I haven’t tried running with it yet, but I wear my hair like this for hot yoga three nights a week. I plan on trying it out on my race this weekend, I’ll let you know how it works out. Click here for how-to instructions. Bonus: FabFitFun says braids are in.

These “no slip grip” headbands from Scunci are also cool, but let’s be realistic about how good we are going to look while exercising.

2. Shampoo
Burt’s Bees Very Volumizing Pomegranate & Soy Shampoo
I don’t know about everyone else, but after a long sweaty run there is nothing like a nice “wash, rinse and repeat” in the shower. For my post-run shower I love this Burt’s Bees shampoo. First of all, it’s only $8. Yes, I occasionally have a love affair with Bumble & Bumble, but I have a steady relationship with this shampoo. It smells great and murders grease, great for hair that gets really greasy but is also damaged from color or chlorine.

That’s it for today! If you live in NC,  GOTR Triangle has a 5K this weekend that you should check out. More than 3,000 runners show up and 500 girls in the GOTR organization will run it together. It’s a short race, but it’s for a great cause. I’ll recap the race and braid next week!

